Reflecting, Reliving, Remembering & Reminiscing

Reflecting, Reliving, Remembering & Reminiscing

Reflecting, Reliving, Remembering & Reminiscing

Throughout the past six weeks, UOW BCM110 students have studied a series of topics that all relate to the media. The topics studied include media effects, semiotics, the public sphere, media control and issues relating to children and the media, all of which are very opinion based and subject to the ideologies of many different people.

The media was a somewhat unknown and uncertain concept to me at the beginning of this course. However, the more I practice blogging and the more contacts I make within the University, the easier it is to adapt to the expectations of constructing an informative, opinion based and well written piece of research. The topics have all been of great benefit to me, even though I feel a more favourable pull towards certain topics we studied. I have discovered that the media can be very controlling in the way they influence and present concepts through public discourse, and that there is a lot of work behind the scenes that most people are unaware of.  Semiotics are interesting to me as they are subjective and require less research when discussing and analysing them. When I completed the blog task, I could interpret the text with ease because I could use my existing knowledge.  The concept of the public sphere was quite difficult as terms such as “The Mediated Public Sphere” are fairly technical and required a lot of research in assurance that I was portraying the correct concept.  The topic that intrigues me, to a greater extent more than the other topics, is issues relating to children and the media.  Therefore, I am going to take this topic and use it as a case study to reflect what I have learned so far.

Sarah Burge was in the public sphere constantly in 2012 and is labelled as “The Real Life Barbie.” Sarah is obsessed with plastic surgery and has generated a lot of public discourse because she subjects her young children to these superficially adult practices. As reported in this article (by the Week Staff), Sarah injected her then-15-year-old daughter, Hannah, with Botox. She also bought her daughter, Poppy, a gift voucher on her 7th birthday for breast augmentation surgery, and at Christmas she bought Poppy a gift voucher for liposuction, both of which Poppy could use when she was older.

Below is an image of Poppy, then 7 years old, excitedly displaying her breast augmentation surgery voucher. The denotations of this image would be that it promotes insecurity, lack of self-esteem and may create body image issues. Poppy is standing next to vibrant red underwear that juxtaposes greatly against her as a child and inappropriately portraying her as a sex symbol. This image is clearly controversial in that its connotations show a child appearing delighted to be owner of something that basically says she is not good enough. The media would argue that Poppy should not even know what breast augmentation surgery is, and her exposure to such concepts not only affects her ideologies of body image and appearance, but may also affect other young girls’ ideologies of themselves if they view Poppy in the media and strive to be like her, which is called the cultivation theory.

Image

Sarah denied many of these accusations, which brings up the concept of the moral panic, and whether the media is promoting child exploitation by covering it as a story. The media is very powerful and does have the ability to monitor and alter public discourse to suit their intentions. You will note from the video interview below that Poppy does not speak at all, which is a concern because talking to children to get their perspectives is a key issue. This could be seen as over-controlling on the media’s behalf.

Upon completion of these blog posts, I have learned that feelings can be affected by mood, perspectives can change over time and it is encouraged that everyone’s viewpoints differ; even my own is subject to change.  I found the topics we studied to be interesting, informative and intriguing.  I hope I have improved my blogging significantly over this short but educational period of time, and I will endeavour to learn new things and put my knowledge to good use in the future.

References:

The Week Staff. 2012, Human Barbie Sarah Burge: 5 reasons she’s the worst mother ever’, theweek.com, viewed 9 April 2014,
http://theweek.com/article/index/227111/human-barbie-sarah-burge-5-reasons-shes-the-worst-mother-ever

Waterlow, L. 2012, Controversial ‘Human Barbie mum set to launch daughter onto U.S. pageant scene’, Daily Mail, viewed 9 April 2014,
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2139468/Sarah-Burge-Human-Barbie-set-launch-daughter-Poppy-US-pageant-scene.html

7 thoughts on “Reflecting, Reliving, Remembering & Reminiscing

  1. I like this post and your take on children and the media with the case study. I was in the same boat as you where I didn’t know much about the media and how it worked so I can really relate to how you’ve developed over the course. 🙂

  2. Hey Tiarne! Nice post! Great overview on our studies in BCM over the past few weeks. I think you tied all the aspects together well. The case study on Sarah Burge really interested me as well. I was so shocked to see that she bought her 7 year old daughter a breast augmentation surgery voucher! I think this type of ‘shock factor’ in your blog is great as it captivates your audience and creates further interest. The image ties in well with, not other the case study, but our study of denotations and connotations, which you discussed well.

    The video at the end of your blog and your comment that ‘Poppy does not speak at all…this could be seen as over-controlling on the media’s behalf’ was a engaging conclusion. It additionally linked and displayed you understood the correlating weeks’ lecture. Well done!

    1. Wow, thanks Teika! I really tried to tie everything together nicely so I hope that is what I achieved. It aas a bit different to what we had previously been asked to do but once you know what all the terms mean etc it makes it a whole lot easier. I think it was a nice little exercise to see what we have learned and just a good away to end things. Thank you so much for your comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

